HomeAbout NCHECNCHEC NewsHealth Education CredentialingCHES ExamContinuing EducationRenewal and RecertificationDesignated CECH Providers

Home > Health Education Credentialing > Responsibilities and Competencies
Responsibilities and Competencies for Health Education Specialists

The Seven Areas of Responsibility are a comprehensive set of Competencies and Sub-competencies defining the role of the health education specialist. These Responsibilities were verified through the 2010 Health Educator Job Analysis Project and serve as the basis of the CHES exam beginning in April 2011 and the MCHES exam in October 2011. The Sub-competencies shaded are advanced-level only and will not be included in the entry-level, CHES examination. However the advanced-level Sub-competences will be included in the October 2011 MCHES examination.

Seven Areas of Responsibility:
Area I: Assess Needs, Assets and Capacity for Health Education
Area II: Plan Health Education
Area III: Implement Health Education
Area IV: Conduct Evaluation and Research Related to Health Education
Area V: Administer and Manage Health Education
Area VI: Serve as a Health Education Resource Person
Area VII: Communicate and Advocate for Health and Health Education

Areas of Responsibility for Health Education Specialists 2010 pdf

All rights reserved. No part of this document may be reproduced, stored in retrieval system or transmitted in any way without written permission of NCHEC.